By gaining maximum points last week at Martinsville Jimmie Johnson has taken the points lead in the chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship.  On Friday he won the pole starting spot for the second week in a row.  Now Johnson and Lowes team are in position to control their own destiny over the final three races of the season.

Mr. Five-Time leads Brad Keselowski by two points heading into today's race at Texas Motor Speedway.  Last year, Tony Stewart beat Johnson to win this race at Texas on his way to 2011 championship title.

In qualifying on Friday Johnson won the pole with a speed of 191.076 mph for his 4th pole of the season and his 29th career pole. Greg Biffle will start 2nd in today's race followed by Kyle Busch, Clint Bowyer and Martin Truex Jr.

Keselowski qualified 8th which is his best qualifying effort since the Chase started seven races ago.  He's trying to win his first Sprint Cup championship for Penske Racing.  Kasey Kahne is 4th in points coming into today's race and he will start 13th.

Here is the complete lineup.




More From 107.7 WGNA