It seems hard to believe but NASCAR has been bringing its premier stock car racing series to the historic Brickyard in Indiana for 20 years.

The Brickyard 400 was the first stock car race ever run at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 1994. It was won by Jeff Gordon. This weekend the Sprint Cup Series returns to Indianapolis with both the Sprint Cup Series and the Nationwide Series.

Defending race winner and current points leader Jimmie Johnson is a favorite. He leads the driver ratings at Indianapolis with four wins. Teammate Jeff Gordon also is a four time winner at the Brickyard.

Two-time winner Tony Stewart is also a leading contender. Stewart, who like Gordon grew up in Indiana leads all drivers with the highest average finishing position of 8.2.

Danica Patrick will also make history when she takes the green flag on Sunday - becoming the first woman to compete in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series at Indianapolis. Danica did run in the the NASCAR Nationwide Series event last year finishing 35th. Shawna Robinson is the only other woman who has attempted to run a Sprint Cup Series event at Indy (in 2001) but failed to qualify.

Defending Cup champion Brad Keselowski won the inaugural Indiana 250 Nationwide Series race last year at Indianapolis and would give team owner Roger Penske his first win at Indianapolis. Although Penske has 15 Indy 500 wins, he has yet to win the Brickyard 400.