A few weeks ago we wrote about NASCAR cutting to the Chase to kick-off the battle for the 2014 Sprint Cup Championship. This week, it's time for the cuts to begin.

NASCAR's newly designed format to determine its national champion is set for its first elimination race. Sunday's race at Dover International Speedway will conclude the Challenger round of three races and eliminate four of the 16 drivers who are currently eligible to become champion.

Due to their wins at Chicagoland and New Hampshire, Brad Keselowski and his teammate Joey Logano already know that they will advance to the next Contender round which consists of the three races at Kansas, Charlotte and Talladega. The bottom four in the drivers' point standings after tomorrow's race will be dropped from contention for the championship.

In qualifying held on Friday for Sunday's AAA 400, Kevin Harvick earned his 7th pole of the season which is more than he has had combined in his career coming into this season. Kyle Busch will start second, followed by Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski and Jamie McMurray. Here is the complete starting lineup.

In local racing Friday night, Kenny Tremont won the first race of the three race "Battle At the Bowl" series at the Devil's Bowl Speedway. Vince Quenneville Jr., Adam Pierson, Daryl Nutting and John Scarborough completed the top five.