Travelers from eight more states must now quarantine when coming to New York.

According to a CBS 6 story, those coming to New York from California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee must now quarantine for 14 days when visiting the Empire State. Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Utah were already on the list. The quarantine is being applied to states which are viewed as current coronavirus hot spots.

This is certainly not great news for the tourism industry in New York, although one could argue that travelers from afar were probably less likely to travel here anyway with everything going on, especially to Upstate New York. But maybe there is a silver lining for us locally with less tourism traffic. Maybe with fewer out of state visitors, more of us will be more more likely to visit what are usually the tourist hot spots this summer. In the peak of tourist season, I know I tend to avoid places like Lake George and downtown Saratoga Springs that can get super busy. This summer could be the one to get back out to those hot spots and show the business who rely on the summer season a little love.

107.7 WGNA logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

See the Must-Drive Roads in Every State


More From 107.7 WGNA