As Hurricane Sandy prepares to strike the Northeast, President Obama has officially declared a federal emergency for the state of New York.

According to YNN, the President's action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts throughout all of New York's counties. Relief efforts include identifying, mobilizing and providing equipment and resources necessary to help during an emergency. The President also signed declarations for several other states including Massachusetts, Maryland, Connecticut, and Pennsylvania.

Updates as of 9:45am on Monday, October 29, 2012

-High Wind Warnings and Flood Watches are posted for the Albany area.

-Amtrak has cancelled train service in the Northeast.

-Albany International  Airport has cancelled several flights.

-Several Albany Area schools have closed.

-Track Hurricane Sandy in real time.