Ethan Miller/Getty Images

Kevin Harvick and his race team were honored Friday night in Las Vegas as the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion.

After driving for Richard Childress Racing for 13 years without earning a championship, Harvick moved to the Stewart-Haas Racing team in 2014 and was an instant contender for the championship. Harvick made his decision to make the move almost a year earlier when good friend Tony Stewart was coming off of a championship season and convinced Harvick they would win the title if they teamed up.

Friday night Harvick said Stewart was a man of his word by achieving the title. Crew chief Rodney Childers came over from Michael Waltrip Racing to join Harvick although the two had not worked together before, they were fast right out of the box. The No. 4 Chevrolet led the series with 8 poles and 2,137 laps led. Harvick had 5 wins, 14 top fives and 20 top tens. Harvick clinched the championship with wins in the final two races of the season.

Lady Antebellum participated as presenters in the awards program and also performed as the entire NASCAR industry celebrated the success of Kevin Harvick and the No. 4 team.