The Music and Memories of May 27

2009- George Strait is honored as the Academy of Country Music's "Artist of the Decade"with a TV special that features Taylor Swift, Lee Ann Womack, Tim McGraw, Brooks & Dunn and others.  At the time of the taping, George had claimed 20 ACM Awards during his career.

2006- Jason Aldean gets his first No. 1 song with 'Why.' The song is co-written by John Rich of Big and Rich.

1995- Ty Herndon lands at No. 1 with 'What Mattered Most.'

1989- Rodney Crowell is crooning a No. 1 song called 'After All This Time.'


Don Williams, 1939. A member of the Country Music Hall of Fame. Hits include 'Tulsa Time' 'I Believe In You' and 'Lord, I Hope This Day Is Good.'