When I first heard that Garth Brooks was going to be inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame, I couldn't help but think of all the other legends still awaiting potential induction.  Ironically, Garth himself thought the same thing!

Garth Brooks more than deserves the highest honor in Country Music, after all he lifted our music to new heights in the '90s with unprecedented soaring record and ticket sales.  In a statement released by 'Country Aircheck,' Garth explained how he felt about the announcement: "When I got the news, I felt guilty right away because I think there are a lot of other names that I grew up on who I think should have been here before me."  Last year, we actually compiled a list of artists who are long overdue for their Hall of Fame honors, click here to see who we think should be next.

The CMA created the Country Music Hall of Fame in 1961 to recognize individuals for their outstanding contributions to the format. Inductees are chosen by CMA’s Hall of Fame Panels of Electors, which consist of anonymous voters appointed by the CMA Board of Directors. As of 2011, there are currently 115 members of the Country Music Hall of Fame. Inductees are celebrated and officially inducted at a special ceremony at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum and presented with bronze medallions.

By the way, in the picture above, another 2012 Hall of Fame inductee, Connie Smith and her husband Marty Stuart are standing just behind Trisha Yearwood and Garth Broooks.