Sunday evening, October 21, 2012 Country Music's elite gathered at the Country Music Hall of Fame to officially induct three new members- Connie Smith, Hargus 'Pig' Robbins, and Garth Brooks.

Connie Smith (71) is best known as one of the Sweetheart's of the Grand Ole Opry singing songs like 'Once A Day' 'Ain't Had No Lovin'' and 'The Hurtin's All Over.'  Hargus 'Pig' Robbins (74) was one of Nashville's premier session piano players, heard on classics like 'Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue' 'Behind Closed Doors' and 'White Lightning.' Lastly, Garth Brooks (50) is best known for shooting Country Music's popularity higher than it had ever seen in the '90s.

Any Country Music fan would have loved to have been seated in the audience that was filled with a list of who's who in the Country Music Community. Ronnie Dunn, Crystal Gayle, Merle Haggard, Charlie McCoy, Ronnie Milsap, Quebe Sisters Band, Bob Seger, George Strait, James Taylor, Gene Watson, and The Whites among all-star cast paying tribute. It was reported that George Jones was initially scheduled to induct Garth Brooks, but George Strait was asked to substitute for the fellow Hall of Famer.

Reading all of the reviews makes any Country Music Fan slightly envious of anyone who was able to grab a seat. Here are some of the highlights of the ceremony that I would have loved to have seen:

George Strait singing Garth Brooks' 'Much Too Young To Feel This Damn Old'
George Strait putting the medallion on Garth Brooks
Ronnie Milsap singing 'Behind Closed Doors' with Hargus 'Pig' Robbins
Crystal Gayle singing 'Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue' for Hargus 'Pig' Robbins
Quebe Sisters of Texas honored Connie Smith with 'Once A Day'
Merle Haggard's official presentation of Connie Smith's induction
All of the Hall of Fame members performing 'Will The Circle Be Unbroken'

Other Hall of Famers in the audience of the 213 seat Ford Theater at the Country Music Hall of Fame included songwriter Bobby Braddock, Harold Bradley, Roy Clark, Ralph Emery, Jim Foglesong, Jimmy Fortune of the Statler Brothers, Vince Gill, Merle Haggard, Emmylou Harris, Sonny James, Brenda Lee, Barbara Mandrell, Charlie McCoy, George Strait, Jo Walker-Meador, E.W. "Bud" Wendell, and Ray Walker and Curtis Young of the Jordanaires.

According to the Country Music Hall of Fame, this occasion is considered country music's most prestigious event, the Medallion Ceremony represents the official induction of new Hall of Fame members.

Getty Images