A total of eight federal Disaster Recovery Centers are open and operating after an additional two were added Tuesday. Westchester and Ulster counties now have a center available to assist individuals, households and businesses that have incurred damage from Hurricane/Tropical Storm Irene or subsequent flooding.

Centers are fully staffed with disaster-recover specialists.  Each center is open from 8am to 8pm, seven days a week and are fully equipped to provide information to victims of flooding or damage as well as answer questions.

FEMA Federal Coordinator Officer Philip Parr recommends that those seeking assistance first register with FEMA before visiting a recovery center.  They insist that no one should feel intimidated when calling.  The number is 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA).  When calling, you will need your social security number; private insurance information; flood insurance information (if applicable); address and zip code of damaged property; directions to the property damaged; and daytime phone number.

Here is a list of eight centers, open and operating, for anyone seeking assistance or information:

Essex County Greene County

Town Hall                                    Prattsville Town Hall
11 School Street                        49 Main Street
Jay, NY 12912                            Prattsville, NY 12468

Rensselear County Schenectady County

Social Services Office              Rotterdam Mall
127 Blooming Grove Rd.        93 West Campbell
Troy, NY 12180                          Rotterdam, NY 12306

Schoharie County Westchester County

Holiday Inn Express                Westchester County Center
160 Holiday Way                      198 Central Avenue
Schoharie, NY 12157              White Plains, NY 10606

Ulster County

Business Resource Center       Belleayre Mountain Ski Area
1061 Development Court           Belleayre Mountain Road
Ulster Avenue                                Pine Hill, NY 12465
Kingston, NY 12401

When calling FEMA, be sure to have a pen and paper handy.  You'll need to write down the 9-digit FEMA registration number which you'll use throughout the process of seeking federal disaster assistance.