As we prepare for the ACM Awards, we take a moment to honor some legendary performers who surprisingly missed winning an ACM in their respective categories.

It truly is an honor to land a nomination, considering the hundreds of people who make music for a living. With only 5 spots, and only 1 winner, sometimes our favorites get overlooked or lost in the shuffle.  Here we take a moment to honor a few headline performers who were at the top of their game and deserve recognition for being nominated, even though they didn't take home the trophy.

Artists who peaked before 1965 did not have a chance to be nominated, as the Academy of Country Music formed in 1965.

Nominated BUT Never Won ACM Male Vocalist Of The Year

Johnny Cash Nominated 1965, 1969

Marty Robbins Nominated 1970, 1971, 1973, 1976

Ray Price Nominated 1970, 1972

Charley Pride Nominated 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972

Ricky Skaggs Nominated 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985

Eddie Rabbitt Nominated 1978, 1980

John Denver Nominated 1974

Mel Tillis Nominated 1976, 1977

Waylon Jennings Nominated 1979

Tom T. Hall Nominated 1973

Hank Williams, Jr. Nominated 1981, 1982, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988

Ronnie Milsap is pictured above, with son Todd, in 2001 winning the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award. Milsap was also the ACM's 1982 Male Vocalist of the Year.